Blessings # 9 – – “Tabbi”


Tabbi you were so much more to my life
Than a slave to be easily forgot

To lay you under the swallowing Earth
And spurn all who sought to offer comfort

To just hear their wishes that I receive
A new slave, another equally good

When you were so much more my lost brother
A man to share with me each joy and tear

Was to have the skin stripped from my cold chest
As I lie unable to fend off pain

So I brought them around to surround me
That first horrid night with their fair comforts

To offer praises not spoken before
Teaching that the human must be valued

Must be valued for what he does in life
As his station ends when his soul departs.

About brucejberger

Bruce J. Berger has published his short fiction in a variety of print and on-line literary journals, including Prole, Jersey Devil Press Anthology, The Awakenings Review, Raphael's Village, Eastown Fiction, Black Magnolias Literary Journal, and others. He also publishes shorts stories for Amazon's Kindle. He is pursuing his MFA in Creative Writing at American University beginning in August 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessings # 9 – – “Tabbi”

  1. stuart cohen says:

    Wow, Bruce, I’m impressed. Do your teammates know about this side of you?
    stuart cohen

Leave a Reply

