A letter to President Trump about family in the White House


Dear President Trump,

I see that you are now getting flak for bringing Jared and Ivanka into the White House. Frankly, if I were president, I would want to have my family around me for advice. Obviously, your family knows you better than the rest of us know you, and they can probably figure out when you’re lying to them, if you ever do. I think, however, you’ve not gone far enough.

First, shouldn’t Melania be made head of Immigration and Customs Enforcement? She was an immigrant, after all, and must know all about it. She could also be your chief advisor about construction of The Wall.

Second, shouldn’t Barron be made head of the Department of Education, replacing DeVos? After all, Barron goes to school, so he must know everything one needs to know about education.

Now, if I were president, my son, a medical doctor, would be made Secretary of Defense. Why? Because he’s read a lot of military history. He would be perfect for the job, if I were president, that is.

And my daughter, a social worker, would be chairwoman of the National Endowment for the Arts, because she’s a great writer. Yes, I would keep that agency, thank you.

I would, finally, make my one-year-old grandson head of the Department of Housing and Urban Development. You need not ask why, but I will tell you anyway. He lives in a house.

So, I thoroughly applaud your decisions to rely so heavily on your son-in-law and daughter for their advice. You just haven’t gone far enough.

Very truly yours,

Bruce J. Berger

 

About brucejberger

Bruce J. Berger has published his short fiction in a variety of print and on-line literary journals, including Prole, Jersey Devil Press Anthology, The Awakenings Review, Raphael's Village, Eastown Fiction, Black Magnolias Literary Journal, and others. He also publishes shorts stories for Amazon's Kindle. He is pursuing his MFA in Creative Writing at American University beginning in August 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

